Shri RLT College of Science, Akola

Department of Microbiology

Departmental Report (2019-20)

Department of Microbiology is one of leading department in college offering education at undergraduate, postgraduate and research level. Department also runs career-oriented courses like CCLT and DCLT. This year Department of Microbiology got **National level Best Microbiology Department Award** by Microbiologist society India. Dr. V.D. Nanoty received award at the Hands of Hon'ble Dr. S.P. Kane VC RTM University, Nagpur and Dr. A.M. Deshmukh President Microbiologist Society India on 30th Sept 2019 in formal event organised at National conference in Nagpur.

Besides traditional teaching methods, department imparts knowledge by various activities like study tour, research festival and activity bases education. This year department have organised study tour to Mahan water purification plant on date11th October 2019 in which 110 students and faculty members including Dr. U. K Bhalekar, Dr. H.S. Malpani and Ms S. N. Gawande were present. Before tour starts, Dr. V.D. Nanoty, Principal Shri RLT College of Science, guided students about water purification techniques.

Department have organised Eco friendly Ganesha Idol workshop in Collaboration with NGO Nisargakatta on 28th of August 2019. Around 110 school and college students of Akola city participated in event. Chief guest of Function was Shri Rajesh Khawale, deputy collector akola. Event was blessed with presence Distinguished personalities like Adv. M.G. Mohta, Hon. Secretory BGE Society, Shri Praksh Mukund Education officer Akola, Dr. V.D. Nanoty Principal Shri RLT College, Mr. Amol Sawant Founder of Nisargkatta. In same event Rs five thousand donated by MICRANS for Maharashtra flood victims. Dr. Harish Malpani organising secretory of workshop, Dr. U. K. Bhalekar, Ms. S.N. Gawande, Ms. P.T. Agrawal, Dr. R. L. Rahatgoankar took efforts for making event successful.

This year student activity unit MICRANS inaugurated at the hands of Hon. Vice chancellor Amravati University Dr. Murlidhar Chandekar and Dr. Datta Maddamwar UGC faculty fellow SP University Gujrat on date 24th of January 2020. Ms. Naseem Ali from M.Sc. I Microbiology was elected as president of MICRANS and Mr. Govind Andhale of B.Sc. III was elected as Secretary for session 2019-2020. This year around 9 UG and PG students participated at Avishkar research festival.

Department have organised international guest lecture and Microbiome food festival on date 13th February 2020. Dr. Anjana Singh for Tribhuvan University Nepal and Dr. Tanzima Yaesmin from Rajshahi University Bangladesh delivered talk and inaugurated food festival. Dr. Arvind Deshmukh President of Microbiologist Society India and Dr. V.D. Nanoty Maharashtra state President of MSI guided for event. Around 150 students participated in event. Ms. Kanchan Mangtani secured First position in University Merit list of M.Sc. Microbiology and received Gold medal in Convocation of SGB Amravati University. All faculty members attended several events and conferences and also published research papers at Nantional and International reputed journals.



Dr. V.D. Nanoty receiving National Level Best Microbiology Department award from Microbiologist Society India at the Hands of Hon'ble Dr. S.P. Kane VC RTM University, Nagpur and Dr. A.M. Deshmukh President Microbiologist Society India



International Guest lecture by Dr. Tanzima Yaesmin, Bagladesh and Dr. Anjana Singh Nepal



Guest lecture by Prof Datta Maddamwar UGC faculty fellow SP University Gujrat.